List of President of India

President in India is the highest authority when it comes to the legislative, judiciary and armed forces. Although the decision making in the country is done by the prime minister but the several critical issues like judicial, and controlling in case of emergency is done by the president of India. And when any government setup fails to govern the country, the whole nation is governed by the president of India.

Rajendra Prasad was the first president and was in office for 1952 to 1962. Before independence of India, he actively participated in the freedom movement and was respected by all. He died in the year 1963.

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan became the next president and from 1962 to 1967, he was in the office. He was a great philosopher and even writer as well. He also headed some of the prestigious university of India, like Banaras Hindu University. He died in the year 1975.

Zakir Hussain, who was the vice chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University, was made president after this. But he died in office in the year 1969. He was honored with Padma Vibhusan and Bharat Ratna award.

Varahagiri Venkata Giri earlier served as the minister in high commission of India, Ceylon. Then after the death of Zakir Hussain he was the acting president and then become the president of India. He is the only person to work for both the ports. In the year 1980, he died. He is the recipient of Bharat Ratna. He was in office from 1969 to 1974.

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed became the 5th President of the country. Earlier he served as a minister in the ruling government. But he died in the office before his term could end. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was then the vice president of India, and become president after Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed. He also served as the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh.

Giani Zail Singh became the next president and was in office from 1982 to 1987. Earlier he was chief minister of Punjab and also served as the Union Home Minister as well. Ramaswamy Venkataraman was then vice president became the president after the end of Giani Zail Singh tenure.List of President of India by bolzara.Com

Ramaswamy Venkataraman was president from 1987 to 1992. He actively participated in the independence of India, and was also jailed once by the Britishers. He also served as the minister of defense and, finance and labor ministry in the ruling government.

Shanker Dayal Sharma became the next president and prior to his appointment he was chief minister of Madhya Pradesh. He also acted as the governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Maharashtra. He was vice president as well, when Ramaswamy Venkataraman was president.

Kocheril Raman Narayanan who was vice chancellor of JNU and also served as the ambassador of India in many countries became the next president. He was president of India from 1997 to 2002.

APJ Abdul Kalam, the man behind the India missile program and also a great contributor towards India space organization, ISRO, became president, and was in office from 2002 to 2007. His act of visiting colleges and be among the students is admired in the whole nation. He is a recipient of Bharat Ratna.

Pratibha Devi Singh Patil became the first women president in the country, after A.P.J Abdul Kalam tenure was ended. She served as the governor of Rajasthan as well.

Pranab Mukrejee is the current president of India. He has an extensive political carrier and was in Indian National Congress before his president post. He also severed as the union minister of foreign, defense and finance minister.

List of President of India

  Name of President Tenure
1. Rajendra Prasad 26 January 1950 to 12 May 1962
2. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962 to 13 May 1967
3. Zakir Hussain 13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969
4. Varahagiri Venkata Giri 24 August 1969 to 24 August 1974
5. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974 to 11 February 1977
6. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25 July 1977 to 25 July 1982
7. Giani Zail Singh 25 July 1982 to 25 July 1987
8. Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25 July 1987 to 25 July 1992
9. Shanker Dayal Sharma 25 July 1992 to 25 July 1997
10. Kocheril Raman Narayanan 25 July 1997 to 25 July 2002
11. A.P. J. Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002 to 25 July 2007
12. Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007 to 25 July 2012
13. Pranab Mukherjee 25 July 2012 to 25 July 2017
14. Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017 till date

   Prime Minister of India List What is Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation