Prime Minister of India List

In the year 1947, the geography of the south Asian region changed, a nation got independence called as ‘India’. After centuries of British suppressions, nation came out as single one, looking forward to lead its name in the world. And people were jubilating all around the nation.

List of All Prime Minister of India


In Power


Political Party

Jawaharlal Nehru

15 August 1947 to 27 May 1964

16 years, 286 days

Indian National Congress

Gulzarilal Nanda

27 May 1964 -9 June 1964

13 days

Indian National Congress

Lal Bahadur Shastri

9 June 1964 -11 January 1966

1 year, 216 days

Indian National Congress

Gulzarilal Nanda

11 January 1966- 24 January 1966

13 days

Indian National Congress

Indira Gandhi

24 January 1966- 24 March 1977

11 years, 59 days

Indian National Congress

Morarji Desai

24 March 1977- 28 July 1979

2 years, 126 days

Janata Party

Charan Singh

28 July 1979- 14 January 1980

170 days

Janata Party Secular

Indira Gandhi

14 January 1980- 31 October 1984

4 years, 291 days

Indian National Congress

Rajiv Gandhi

31 October 1984- 2 December 1989

5 years, 32 days

Indian National Congress

V.P Singh

2 December 1989- 10 November 1990

343 days

Janata Dal National Front

Chandra Shekhar

10 November 1990- 21 June 1991

223 days

Samajwadi Janata Party and INC

P. V. Narasimha Rao

21 June 1991 -16 May 1996

4 years, 330 days

Indian National Congress

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

16 May 1996 -1 June 1996

13 days

Bharatiya Janata Party

H. D. Deve Gowda

1 June 1996 -21 April 1997

324 days

Janata Dal United

I. K. Gujral

21 April 1997 -19 March 1998

332 days

Janata Dal United

Atal bihari Vajpayee

19 March 1998- 22 May 2004

6 years, 64 days

Bharatiya Janata Party

Manmohan Singh

22 May 2004-26 May 2014

10 years, 4 days

Indian National Congress

Narendra Modi

26 May 2014-Still


Bharatiya Janata Party

First Prime Minister of India

The onus of running such a big nation with so much vibrancy needed strong leaders, and ‘Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru’ was the first choice. The fledgling nation wanted a thread in form of a prime minister who call tie all the states together. He with other prominent leaders laid down the foundation of the present nation. His tenure was long and was in office between 1947 to 1964.

Second Prime Minister of India

Jawaharlal Nehru demise created a void in the Indian leadership. But Lal Bahadur Shastri was the next man, who can take this nation forward. Although his tenure was brief, but he was a man of strong decisions. He head India between 1964-1966.

After his death, India suffered leader instability with changing political scenarios. Gulzari Lal Nanda for the time being acted as the Prime Minister India.

First Female Prime Minister of India

Face of India was changing fast, a new icon (women) merged out in Indian Politics, she was daughter of former PM Nehru, and she was ‘Indira Gandhi’. Being the first women and also the decisive and bold one, she rewritten the ways Indian politics will be in future. She headed India for around 11 years 59 days, after she lost to Janata party in elections.

Moraji Desai, became the next PM and was in office for 2 years and 126 days. And then after that ‘Janata Party Secular’ candidate ‘Charan Singh’ become PM for 170 days. But after these small changes in leadership, fresh elections were held and Indira Gandhi again came out as victorious, was in power for another 4 years and 291 days. But on an uneventful day, she was murdered by her own guards and there was nationwide emergency.

Indira son, Rajiv Gandhi was a man of true wisdom and modern dreams. And after winning elections easily he was put as the in charge of India. Known for his modern policies and technological advancement, he was one of his kinds. But during the LTTE tension in southern part of India, he died in a bomb blast. He was in office for 5 years and 32 days.

V.P Singh of Janata Dal became PM for 343 days. Then Chandra Shekhar of Samajwadi Janata Party became PM for 223 days. Political instability was engulfing the whole nation followed by the economic crisis that nation faced in 1992. ‘P. V. Narasimha Rao’ of Indian National Congress provided the much needed stability and was in office for 4 years and 330 days. His total tenure was complete Atal Vihari Vajpayee for 13 days. Deve Gowda was then PM of India for 324 days of Janata Dal United. He resigned from office and then I.K Gujral of Janata Dal United became PM for coming 332 days.

India was going through years of political instability and a strong leader was required to lead the nation in the coming 21st century. Atal Vihari Vajpayee of Bharitya Janta Party was elected as PM, after winning elections nationwide. He provided the much needed political smoothness to the nation, followed by much needed development and decisions. He was PM for 6 years and 64 days. He is known for his great orating skills and decision making.

BJP lost elections in 2004, and INC, Indian National Congress was back in power. Manmohan Singh was elected as the PM of India for coming 10 years and 4 days. But tenure came with lot of allegations and biggest scams in country history.

On the other hand a new generation of voters was ready, with different outlook towards the politics. Elections held in 2014 and Bhartiya Janata Party was back in power with ‘Narendra Modi’ was the PM. India saw biggest voters turnout and one of the biggest mandate a party getting after long time.

   How to Receive Electricity Bill Information on Mobile Phone (UPPCL) List of President of India